Laurel High School teacher awarded for excellence

Due to her collaboration with the School of Polymer Science and Engineering at the University of Southern Mississippi, Laurel High School chemistry teacher Rebecca Hooper was named the 2018 William Dahlgren Teacher of Excellence through the Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering (SAMPE) Foundation. The William Dahlgren Teacher of Excellence Award recognizes outstanding teachers for inspiring students in math, science and engineering fields, particularly classes directed towards the field of materials science and engineering, and general entrepreneurship activities/efforts.

Hooper is in her seventh year with the Laurel School District and currently teaches Chemistry I, Advanced Placement Chemistry, Physical Science and serves as the Science Department Co-Chair and Beta Club Co-Sponsor. She received her bachelor’s degree in biochemistry from California Polytechnic State University and a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from the University of Texas at Arlington. Due to her dedication to students, Hooper is a past recipient of the Laurel High School Teacher of the Year Award.

“I was extremely honored and humbled to receive the award, especially being presented in front of my students who were as excited as I was,” Hooper said. “Often as teachers we work tirelessly and in the background to give our students valuable learning experiences that lead to their success and to be recognized for that hard work is extremely encouraging. I am also aware that there are many other very deserving teachers out there and I am truly blessed to be highlighted by the SAMPE Foundation with the Teacher of Excellence Award.”

Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.