Laurel School District honors administrator, teachers, parents of the year

The Laurel School District recently honored the Teachers of the Year, Parents of the Year and Administrator of the Year at a special ceremony. The annual Celebration of Excellence banquet honors those in the district who have made an impact on student success.


Pictured (seated L-R) are the parents of the year Tanya Lampley, Oak Park Elementary School; Robin Barwick, Mason Elementary School; Kissey McCray, Maddox Elementary School; LaShonda R. Dase, Laurel Middle School; Tonya Lewis, LHS Ninth Grade Campus; Jerlean Nobles, Laurel High School and Jessica Lewis, Laurel School District and Nora Davis Magnet School. Pictured (standing L-R) Tornado Award recipient JROTC Instructor Major James C. Howard; teachers of the year Toni Martin, Laurel High School; Sharon McMillan, LHS Ninth Grade Campus; Brittany Barlow, Laurel Middle School; Donald Perkins, Mason Elementary School; Alaina Garick, Nora Davis Magnet School; Nastasha McDonald, Oak Park Elementary School; Paula McGowin, Laurel School District and Maddox Elementary School; Administrator of the Year Jeannine Agee and Tornado Award recipient JROTC Instructor First Sergeant Kimble Ceasar.


The Golden Tornado Award was created to honor employees who have gone above and beyond the call of duty. Those selected exhibit great compassion, enthusiasm and a love for every member of the Tornado Family. Their willingness to see students succeed in life drives their motivation and purpose, and defines what it means to be a Golden Tornado. Pictured: JROTC Instructor Major James C. Howard, Superintendent Dr. Toy L. Watts and JROTC Instructor First Sergeant Kimble Ceasar


Each year an overall parent, teacher and administrator are selected to represent the Laurel School District. Pictured: 2018 Teacher of the Year Paula McGowin from Maddox Elementary School, 2018 Administrator of the Year Jeannine Agee from Laurel High School and 2018 Parent of the Year Jessica Lewis from Nora Davis Magnet School. Those selected were honored due to their hard work, dedication and constant pursuit of student success.




Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.