Exceptional Education

Phone: 601-649-6391
Fax: 601-649-6398

Exceptional Education Director
Dr. Dorsetta Jordan – djordan@laurelschools.org

Administrative Assistant
Emily Sullivan – esullivan@laurelschools.org

Child Find Coordinator
Chasity Coleman - CColeman@laurelschools.org

Psychometrist, Gifted Services’ Coordinator, Eligibility Services Case Manager for Private Schools
Melody Hughes – mhughes@laurelschools.org

Pre-School & K-12th Grade Case Manager
Janice Bridges - jbridges@laurelschools.org

Behavior Specialist
Phaedra Bivins - pbivins@laurelschools.org

Interventionist
Greg Read - gread@laurelschools.org

Mississippi Educational Scholarship

The Mississippi Educational Scholarship was enacted in 2015 and provides an opportunity for parents of children with disabilities to receive money to help defray the cost of private school tuition or other specific allowable expenses to educate their child. The ESA program was created by the Equal Opportunity for Students with Special Needs Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-181-1 et. seq. The program is being administered by the Mississippi Department of Education, Office of Special Education. For more information on the ESA program, please visit MDE at https://www.mdek12.org/OSE/ESA.